1
39

Monument to Peter I (Ekaterinburg)

Rate this place:

Photos

  • Памятник Петру I (Екатеринбург). Photo 1

Description

The monument to Peter I in Yekaterinburg has an interesting history, starting with its installation in 1885 on the initiative of the Administration of the Yekaterinburg-Tyumen Railway. This bronze bust was installed on identical marble pedestals along with the bust of Empress Catherine I in the park near the dam of the city pond. The inscriptions on the pedestals spoke of the importance of these monarchs for the city: Peter I as the founder of the mining business in the Urals, and Catherine I as the founder of the city of Yekaterinburg.

However, in April 1917, the busts were destroyed by a revolutionary crowd of soldiers. Subsequently, in the 1950s, a plaster bust of the writer Maxim Gorky was installed on the pedestal that previously held the bust of Peter I.

In 1992, the bust of Peter I was recreated by sculptor Gennady Chekhomov based on surviving photographs. This bust was cast from cast iron at the Kasli plant and installed on an old pedestal in the courtyard of the Museum of Architecture and Industrial Technology.

In 2014–2015, the monument was moved to the Historical Square closer to the embankment of the Iset River, where it became part of an open exhibition of large-sized samples of Ural technology, owned by the Museum of Architecture and Design of the Ural State Academy of Arts.

Thus, the monument to Peter I in Yekaterinburg not only symbolizes the founding of the city, but also survived several periods in its history, from installation in the 19th century to transfer and reconstruction in later years.

Comments

No comments yet, be the first

1
40

Памятник Петру I (Екатеринбург)

Оцените место:

Фотографии

  • Памятник Петру I (Екатеринбург). Фото 1

Описание

Памятник Петру I в Екатеринбурге имеет интересную историю, начиная с его установки в 1885 году по инициативе Управления Екатеринбург–Тюменской железной дороги. Этот бронзовый бюст был установлен на одинаковых мраморных постаментах вместе с бюстом императрицы Екатерины I в сквере у плотины городского пруда. Надписи на постаментах говорили о значимости этих монархов для города: Петру I как основателю горно-заводского дела на Урале, а Екатерине I как основательнице города Екатеринбурга.

Однако в апреле 1917 года бюсты были разрушены революционно настроенной толпой солдат. Впоследствии, в 1950-х годах, на постамент, который ранее держал бюст Петра I, был установлен гипсовый бюст писателя Максима Горького.

В 1992 году бюст Петра I был воссоздан скульптором Геннадием Чехомовым на основе сохранившихся фотографий. Этот бюст был отлит из чугуна на Каслинском заводе и установлен на старом постаменте во внутреннем дворе Музея архитектуры и промышленной техники.

В 2014–2015 годах памятник был перенесён в Исторический сквер ближе к набережной реки Исети, где он стал частью открытой экспозиции крупногабаритных образцов уральской техники, принадлежащей Музею архитектуры и дизайна УрГАХУ.

Таким образом, памятник Петру I в Екатеринбурге не только символизирует основание города, но и пережил несколько периодов в своей истории, от установки в XIX веке до переноса и воссоздания в более поздние годы.

Комментарии

Пока нет комментариев, станьте первым